I’ve been receiving this email to most of my admin addresses this week. This is clearly a phishing scam to try and get your enom ID and password.
Dear user,
On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 18:32:20 +0100 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.
The contact information for the domain which displayed in the Whois database was indeed invalid. On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 18:32:20 +0100 we sent a notice to you at the admin/tech contact email address and the account email address informing you of invalid data in breach of the domain registration agreement and advising you to update the information or risk cancellation of the domain. The contact information was not updated within the specified period of time and we canceled the domain. The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.
PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com
If you find any invalid contact information for this domain, please respond to this email with evidence of the specific contact information you have found to be invalid on the Whois record for the domain name. Examples would be a bounced email or returned postal mail. If you have a bounced email, please attach or forward with your reply or in the case of returned postal mail, scan the returned letter and attach to your email reply or please send it to:
Attn: Domain Services 14455 N Hayden Rd Suite 219 Scottsdale, AZ 85260
LINK TO CHANGE INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com
Thank you,
Domain Services[IncidentID:49623]
The enom links are actually going to http://www.enom.com.sys53.biz/.
I received this e-mail, definitely phishing attempt…
Appear to be sent through a softlayer box, IP address: 208.43.70.241
|
Dear Domain Account Holder,
You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve Thank you for your time. Sincerely, ICANNResolve |
Domain name : ICANNRESOLVE.COM registered with NameCheap
The guy also appear to own omegagalaxy.com (also registered with NC)
I forwarded the e-mail with full headers to abuse@namecheap.com
Courtesy of: http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/485264-phishing-e-mail-from-icann-resolve.html
For SEO and search engine purposes, let me restate that for the benefit of the community at large.
DomainSecondhand.com is a scam
DomainSecondhand.com is a scam
DomainSecondhand.com is a scam
“Human hand appraisals”
William Quigley (fake name) is a domain scammer
Quigley@Toughguy.net is a scammer email address
Shirley M. Leurquin is a scam name
509-271-0875 is a scam phone number
This is a scam page: http://domaintalk.ourplace.com/Archive/750328.htm
http://whois.domaintools.com/domainsecondhand.com
Domain name: domainsecondhand.com?
Registrant Contact:
Perfect Privacy LLC
http://perfectprivacy.com
1.4042608491
Fax: +1.4042608493
303 Peachtree Center Ave
Atlanta, GA 30303
http://www.namepros.com/warnings-an…ughguy-net.html
If you have been scammed by DomainSecondhand.com, dispute your changes to your credit card company immediately. Check the back of your card for the phone number. It usually takes 48 hours to process. Report it to your credit buereu if you gave them your credit card number!
If you have been SCAMMED BY DomainSecondhand.com, PLEASE contact their current payment processor at PLIMUS and let them know.
wecare@plimus.com
sales@plimus.com
Also, contact their hosting company
Abuse@corp.web.com
THIS ORGANIZATION HAS BEEN SCAMMING PEOPLE FOR YEARS AND IT IS A BIG OPERATION. THIS IS NOT JUST ONE GUY. PLEASE COPY AND PASTE THIS INTO OTHER FORUMS. TOGETHER WE CAN SHUT THESE GUYS DOWN.
Courtesy: http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/401699-domainsecondhand-com-is-a-scam.html
|
Greetings!
****.com has been found via online auctions. Please let us know the your price and we will consider it. Our company is investing in High Tech and IT projects. Now the domain market is very attractive for us, since every business in the Internet requires a domain. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, |
I e-mailed him back, but I was immediately suspicious in part because the price of my domain was listed on Sedo. I googled him and found this:
http://www.scorpiono.com/the-daily-…mers-good-deals
I got the same follow-up e-mail and it appears that he wants you to get the domain appraised at a site he’s involved with. Just a heads up!
Dear Principal,
We are a domain name registrar centre in HongKong.and in charge of the registeration in ASIA, We have something important need to confirm through your company.
We received a formal application from a company called “Mabths Investment Company” applying to register
Domain names:
philfischer.asia
philfischer.cn
philfischer.com.cn
philfischer.hk
philfischer.in
philfischer.info
philfischer.mobi
philfischer.net.cn
philfischer.tw
Internet brand keyword:
philfischer
In China and also in Asia On the July 3 2008 .
During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged “Mabths Investment Company” has no trade mark, Intellectual property, nor patent even similar to that word. As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect the alleged “Mabths Investment Company” to be a domain grabber. Hence we need you confirmation for two things.
First of all, whether this alleged “Mabths Investment Company” is your business partner or distributor in ASIA.
Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains. (The alleged “Mabths Investment Company” will be entitled to obtain a domain not needed by original trademark owner.)
If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept. in order to deal with this issue better, please let someone who is responsible for trademark or domain name contact me as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Grace
——————————————————————————
Tel:+852-30593099
Fax:+852-31771520
Add:121 Des Voeux Road, Central, Hong Kong
Email:grace@sknet.hk Website:www.sknetservice.hk
——————————————————————————
party is your business partner or distributor in ASIA please DO NOT reply. We will automatically confirm application from your business partner after this audit procedure. we have to notify you, and our registration organization are not responsible for any dispute questions about trade mark, intellectual property nor patent after they succeed in registration.hope you can understand.thank you.
grace